Trader Joe’s Gluten Free Rice Pasta & Cheddar

Trader Joe’s makes this wonderful gluten free boxed Mac ‘n’ Cheese that’s only $2 a box (compared to like $4 a box for the Annie’s brand version, which I haven’t tried due to the price tag).  In my kitchen, it works best to boil the pasta for the full 12 minutes.

I also add in a generous TBSP of butter and about 1/2 cup of pureed butternut squash* (Since it is orange, it blends in well the with cheese sauce, adds a slight sweet flavor, plus lots of fiber and extra nutrients).

My kids gobble this up.

* Either use baby food, or I buy a bag of frozen butternut squash, cook it in the microwave according to package directions, puree it in my food processor, and freeze little single-use servings.  Pureed sweet potato also works well.

One Response to Trader Joe’s Gluten Free Rice Pasta & Cheddar

  1. This flour is created by finely crushing and milling blanched almonds.
    Finally, you will find that it is not appropriate
    for you to order oatmeal when you are out in a restaurant because you will never know if it is pure or not.
    I didn’t add any extras like Xantham gum, and didn’t have any
    failures.